Free Electronic Waste Recycling Collections This Month

Time to declutter! Recycle your old TVs, radios, and other electronics for free.

The Papio NRD and Nebraska Loess Hills RC&D Council’s free electronic waste (e-waste) recycling collections are this month in Burt, Dakota, Thurston and Washington counties.

Items Accepted

Residents and most businesses can properly dispose of computers, monitors, televisions (including big screen TVs), printers, office equipment, DVD/VHS players, audio equipment, radios and other small electronic devices. All data containing devices (computers, tablets, cell phones) are shredded or wiped in accordance with DOD standards by Midwest Electronic Recovery. If certificates of recycling and/or destruction are required, participants must call for instructions at least 24 hours before the collection.

Items Not Accepted

We will NOT accept large appliances such as microwaves, dehumidifiers, water heaters, freezers or refrigerators of any size. Waste will not be accepted from computer or electronics repair/retail businesses.

This is the ten-year anniversary of these annual events which have collected 503,359 pounds of e-waste to date. Proper disposal of e-waste protects the environment from mercury, lead, arsenic, cadmium, and other toxic materials contained in electronic components. Recycling also conserves limited landfill space in our rural communities.

Collection Dates and Times (at NRD/USDA Service Centers)

Tuesday, May 21

  • Tekamah (Burt County): 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. – 539 S. 13th Street
  • Blair (Washington County) 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. – 1060 Wilbur Street

Thursday, May 23

  • Walthill (Thurston County) 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. – 106 S. Costello Street
  • Dakota City (Dakota County) 2:00 to 5:00 p.m. – 1505 Broadway Street

E-waste will only be accepted during the scheduled times, rain or shine.

Funding for these free e-waste collections is provided through the Litter Reduction and Recycling Incentive Grant Program, Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy.

For more information, please contact one of our Field Office representatives in your county:

Burt County: Deb Ward at 402-374-1920 ext. 3
Washington, Douglas & Sarpy counties: Kalani Fortina at 402-426-4782 ext. 3
Thurston County: Tamara Tipton at 402-846-5655
Dakota County: Mahkenna Koinzan at 402-494-4949