Free Electronic Waste Recycling Collections This Month

Time to declutter! Recycle your old TVs, radios, and other electronics for free.

The Papio NRD and Nebraska Loess Hills RC&D Council’s free electronic waste (e-waste) recycling collections are this month in Burt, Dakota, Thurston and Washington counties.

Items Accepted

Residents and most businesses can properly dispose of computers, monitors, televisions (including big screen TVs), printers, office equipment, DVD/VHS players, audio equipment, radios and other small electronic devices. All data containing devices (computers, tablets, cell phones) are shredded or wiped in accordance with DOD standards by Midwest Electronic Recovery. If certificates of recycling and/or destruction are required, participants must call for instructions at least 24 hours before the collection.

Items Not Accepted

We will NOT accept large appliances such as microwaves, dehumidifiers, water heaters, freezers or refrigerators of any size. Waste will not be accepted from computer or electronics repair/retail businesses.

This is the ten-year anniversary of these annual events which have collected 503,359 pounds of e-waste to date. Proper disposal of e-waste protects the environment from mercury, lead, arsenic, cadmium, and other toxic materials contained in electronic components. Recycling also conserves limited landfill space in our rural communities.

Collection Dates and Times (at NRD/USDA Service Centers)

Tuesday, May 21

  • Tekamah (Burt County): 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. – 539 S. 13th Street
  • Blair (Washington County) 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. – 1060 Wilbur Street

Thursday, May 23

  • Walthill (Thurston County) 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. – 106 S. Costello Street
  • Dakota City (Dakota County) 2:00 to 5:00 p.m. – 1505 Broadway Street

E-waste will only be accepted during the scheduled times, rain or shine.

Funding for these free e-waste collections is provided through the Litter Reduction and Recycling Incentive Grant Program, Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy.

For more information, please contact one of our Field Office representatives in your county:

Burt County: Deb Ward at 402-374-1920 ext. 3
Washington, Douglas & Sarpy counties: Kalani Fortina at 402-426-4782 ext. 3
Thurston County: Tamara Tipton at 402-846-5655
Dakota County: Mahkenna Koinzan at 402-494-4949






Papio NRD Seeks Input from Washington County Farmers on Incentives Program

The Papio-Missouri River Natural Resources District is seeking feedback from Washington County farm owner-operators on a new incentives program for farmstead improvements and agricultural enhancements.

The program is intended be a flagship example of conservation-based water quality improvement for the state of Nebraska by reversing watershed impairment in the Papillion Creek Watershed through the reduction of nutrient, sediment, and E. coli loading.

“The best way to make this incentives program truly beneficial to farmers is to collaborate directly with them,” said Kyle Madsen, watershed coordinator for the Papio NRD. “We want their help in devising incentives they find attractive to implement water quality improvement practices throughout the watershed.”

Madsen says the next few months will be devoted to gathering public feedback necessary to develop a comprehensive and successful program.

Special incentives are available to stakeholders in various parts of Washington County for the following practices/improvements:

Septic system upgrades/replacements

General Conservation Reserve Program

Pollinator planting

Riparian buffer/filter strips

Sediment control basins

Wet detention basins

Livestock exclusion areas

Cover crops


Grant funding for the program is provided by the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy. The program will be available through December 2022.

For questions and information on eligibility, please contact Madsen at (402) 350-3695 or